For up-to-date information about the Coronavirus in the Amarillo area, please visit


Amarillo News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council Takes Oath of Office

Post Date:05/15/2019 9:50 AM

The individuals who will serve the City of Amarillo on Amarillo City Council for the next two years took the oath of office during a swearing-in ceremony Tuesday, led by Amarillo Municipal Court Judge Laura Hamilton.

 Following the approval of a resolution Tuesday canvassing the results of the May 4 election by the council, the council members (all incumbents serving their second term) are:

● Mayor Ginger Nelson.

● Place 1: Elaine Hays.

● Place 2: Freda Powell.

● Place 3: Eddy Sauer.

● Place 4: Howard Smith.

Powell was unanimously approved by the council as mayor pro tempore. Mayor pro tempore assumes the role of the mayor when the mayor is unavailable.

Amarillo City Council

Return to full list >>